2/20 New Toy

Posted: February 22, 2009 in Toys

Since David bought my old camera, Panasonic LX2… I went out and got a new one, Panasonic LX3…

I could’ve just use iPhone as my main photo shooting apparatus… But after my trip back from Seattle, I just had to buy a new camera, a real camera. Not that the camera on iPhone is crap, but I couldn’t stand the shit quality in low-light situations… and without auto focus, it’s kinda hard to take pictures of food on my plate, and food on other’s plate…

So what’s the difference between LX2 and LX3? Same camera almost… except aperture size is a bit bigger, and wide angle is a bit wider… and some other features I am too lazy to explain… Google it…

Here’s the cheap looking plastic bag that holds it all…
IMG_0747 IMG_0748
Yippie! New toy to play with! I also got a 8GB memory card, a spare battery, and a lens cap from Ricoh (I’ll explain why later…)
As you can see, the spare battery is not a original Panasonic, instead, I got a Taiwanese made battery, difference? The original one will last a bit longer… Being me, I usually buy original factory parts, but since it’s only a back up, and costs about 1/3 of the Panasonic one… and no since there’s no bonus this year… yeah… cheaper is better…
As for the lens cap… the camera comes with one, but, this one from Ricoh, which is actually made for it’s GX200 camera, instead of removing it before shooting, the lens can actually go "through" the cap as it’s split into 3 little "doors" so there’s no need to remove the cap every time before you shoot. However, I didn’t hook it up right away cuz there’re a few modifications I need to make before I can put it on my camera… and I’m sure no one wants to know why and how, so I’ll just skip it…
IMG_0749 IMG_0750 IMG_0751
This is the free "leather" case that came with the camera… It’s fake leather, you can call it vinyl or plethora, either way, it’s not real leather, and I’m probably never gonna use it anyway… so… that’s that…
IMG_0752 IMG_0753 IMG_0754 IMG_0755
Alright, here’s the open-box pics… It comes with a CD loaded with a few software, a instruction booklet, which I actually read from cover to cover… A charger, of course, a USB cable for hooking it up to the computer, and AV cables to hook it up to the TV…
IMG_0756 IMG_0757 IMG_0758 IMG_0759 IMG_0760
The camera itself is slightly bigger than it’s predecessor, which is ok with me. It is much bigger compare to the slim type cameras such as Sony’s T series, and the Z series from Fuji. But those cameras will never perform as good as this one under low light situations, which is VERY VERY important if you like to take pictures of foods, and especially in those fancy restaurants where they over charge you on food but stingy on the lights so they can save a few bucks on electricity! Hehe~
IMG_0761 IMG_0762 IMG_0763
The one on the upper left is the lens cap that comes with the camera, and the one from the right of course is the one from Ricoh. The metal ring on the bottom is… ummm…. yeah…. Google it… if you really want to know…
IMG_0764
 

Here are some pics I took with the camera at the airport yesterday and today…
Air China with it’s special livery, and our very own 747-400 with the Boeing Dreamliner Livery…
P1000004 P1000006
Here’s Angel’s dog… I’m not sure what its name is… I’ll just call it Shaggy… hehe
P1000011 P1000013
Here’s Bonbon! Now he is living with Angel’s parents cuz… it’s complicated… Google it…
P1000020 
My first… Actually my second meal after I arrived in LA… Actually, first meal in SD… whatever…
P1000038 
Andy’s precious G37S… with new front diffuser and side skirts…
P1000052

Leave a comment